3 Replies Latest reply on Aug 18, 2016 12:48 PM by fangchin

Is this the best our FDR adapters can do?

fangchin

We have a small test setup illustrated below. I have done some ib_write_bw tests. Got "decent" numbers, but not as fast as I anticipated.  First, some background of the setup:

ipoib_for_the_network_layout_after.png

Two 1U storage servers each has a EDR HCA MCX455A-ECAT. The other four each has a ConnectX-3 VPI FDR 40/50Gb/s HCA mezz OEMed by Mellanox for Dell.  The firmware version: 2.33.5040.  This is not the latest (2.36.5000 according to hca_self_test.ofed) but I am new to IB, and still getting up to speed with updating using Mellanox's firmware tools. The EDR HCA firmware has been updated when the MLNX_OFED was installed.

All servers:

CPU: 2 x Intel E5-2620v3 2.4Ghz 6 core/12 HT

RAM: 8 x 16GiB DDR4 1866Mhz DIMMs

OS: CentOS 7.2 Linux ... 3.10.0-327.28.2.el7.x86_64 #1 SMP Wed Aug 3 11:11:39 UTC 2016 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux

OFED: MLNX_OFED_LINUX-3.3-1.0.4.0 (OFED-3.3-1.0.4)

A typical ib_write_bw test:

Server:

[root@fs00 ~]# ib_write_bw -R

* Waiting for client to connect... *

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

RDMA_Write BW Test

Dual-port       : OFF Device         : mlx5_0

Number of qps   : 1 Transport type : IB

Connection type : RC Using SRQ      : OFF

CQ Moderation   : 100

Mtu             : 2048[B]

Link type       : IB

Max inline data : 0[B]

rdma_cm QPs : ON

Data ex. method : rdma_cm

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Waiting for client rdma_cm QP to connect

Please run the same command with the IB/RoCE interface IP

local address: LID 0x03 QPN 0x01aa PSN 0x23156

remote address: LID 0x05 QPN 0x4024a PSN 0x28cd2e

#bytes     #iterations    BW peak[MB/sec]    BW average[MB/sec]   MsgRate[Mpps]

65536      5000             6082.15            6081.07   0.097297

Client: