12 Replies Latest reply on Apr 18, 2013 5:29 PM by justinclift

MNPH29D - Driver build problem

I am getting a failure when I attempt to build the source driver on Linux Red Hat Enterprise Server 6.4. Is there support for RH 6.4 or is there something else I should be doing? There are no LED's flashing at the back of the server. Do the cards need to be attached to a switch for LED's to light up? I am new to this, but want to setup a high performance cluster consisting of 4 servers.

I should mention I see this in hardware query.

15:00.0 Ethernet controller: Mellanox Technologies MT26448 [ConnectX EN 10GigE, PCIe 2.0 5GT/s] (rev b0)

Finding  Provides: /usr/lib/rpm/redhat/find-provides

error: line 204: Illegal char '(' in: - Modified spec file to conform to KMP specifications

error: Failed to find Provides:

Provides: kernel-modules >= 2.6.32-358.2.1.el6.x86_64 mellanox-mlnx-en-kmod = 1.5.10-1.rhel6u4 modalias(pci:v000015B3d00001000sv*sd*bc*sc*i*) = 1.0-mlnx_ofed1.5.3

I have attached the full log file.

I appreciate your help, DH

• Re: MNPH29D - Driver build problem

Can you try RHEL 6.2 first, and see if it comes up?  Not sure we've done the QA on 6.4 for our EN driver yet, but I will check in the meantime.

justinclift

harperd, are you sure you need to build the source driver?

Asking because the "Infiniband Support" group in yum installs a bunch of drivers for Mellanox cards.

Note though, I haven't personally used MNPH29D cards before, so you could be correct in doing so.  Asking just in case though.

yairi

Hi There!

as far as i know, the Mellanox drivers aren't release yet for RH6.4. i will take a few more months before this is officially introduced.

if you must stick to 6.4 at this point my best advise would be to work with the "inbox" drivers (what ever is shipped with the kernel).

RH6.3 is fully supported if you are able to re-install those machines